Teenager clinches national blitz championship


Rudr Prasad secured the 2023 Vodafone Fiji National Blitz Chess Championship title at the Olympic House in Suva two weeks ago.

Prasad, who is a Provisional FIDE Master, went unbeaten with a score of 11/12, ahead of top-seed Candidate Master (CM) Manoj Kumar who came 2nd with 10/12 and CM Goru Arvind who was thir with 9.5/12.

CM Ronald Terubea and Prashant Sarup finished fourth and fifth overall with respective scores of 8/12 and 7.5/12.

The women’s title was duly won by Provisional Women’s Candidate Master (WCM) Cydel Terubea who scored 8/12, while Jacquelyn Masilomani came secon with 7.5/12.

Ex-Olympiad rep WCM Gloria Sukhu settled for third place with 7/12.

“Rudr played fantastic chess with 10 wins and a couple of draws against CM Manoj Kumar and the talented Jacquelyn Masilomani,” said Fiji Chess Federation general secretary Arvind.

“This is a fine follow-up to his representation in the 44th World Chess Olympiad where he top-scored for Team Fiji with a solid 6/9.

“He is an inspiration for young chess players who think that veterans are hard to beat.”

Courtesy of Vodafone Fiji head of recharge and distribution, Nilesh Singh, who was present for prize-giving, and manager public relations Fozia Muktar and her team, winners in the tournament received cash prizes, mobile phones, medals and trophies.

The secondary schools division was won by Lewis Koroi of Gospel High School via tie-break over Makayla Sukhu of Suva Grammar School since both players tallied a solid 7/12. Upcoming player Zayne Elmond Keshwan of Jai Narayan College clinched third place with 6.5/12, while Ayush Chand of Jai Narayan College finished fourth.

“Overall, it is pleasing to see a lot of youngsters coming to play chess this year,” adds Arvind.

“Arnav Lal, Phillip Sukhu, Adarsh Maharaj, Kinura Herath, Ryan Kumar, Anisha Eshal Bari and Hrishita Nand are among a host of young players that should improve with more training and experience as we go along.”

The primary schools division was won by Lionel Vaurasi of Yat Sen Primary School with a score of 6/12 in his first-ever tournament, a feat that also won him the best beginner award.

Yash Yuvaan Prasad of Deenbandhoo Primary School complemented his elder brother, Rudr Prasad, by coming second with 6/12 on tie-break, while Latileta Masau of Suva Methodist Primary School came third.

More Stories